12th Assembly 2009

About the Uniting Church

The Uniting Church in Australia (UCA) is the third largest Christian denomination in the country.  Approximately 240,000 people regularly attend worship. The UCA is also one of the largest providers of community services in Australia and is well known for its commitment to social justice and willingness to tackle difficult issues.

In 1977 people from three Christian traditions — Congregational, Methodist and Presbyterian — established the Uniting Church.

There are more than 2,000 local congregations where people:

  • worship
  • seek to follow Jesus
  • care for each other
  • provide services in the community
  • learn about God
  • seek to live faithfully and with real joy

These churches may have hundreds of members in large regional congregations or thriving migrant communities, or be tiny communities of a dozen people; found deep in the hearts of our cities and in regional, rural and remote towns.

The Uniting Church is organised not by in a hierarchy but by groups of women and men, lay and ordained, consulting together, usually making decisions by consensus, in each Council with responsibility for a particular area of the church’s life.

The Church is a series of inter-related councils made up of:

  • local churches
  • regional presbyteries
  • state synods
  • the national Assembly

Each council has its distinct tasks and recognises the limits of its responsibilities in relation to other councils.

Locally, regionally and nationally, Uniting Church government is entrusted to representatives, men and women, bearing the gifts and graces with which God has endowed them.